Still heading east

P1000572
Only 2,936 km to go to the farm (out of 5,632 total start). I passed the longitudinal centre of Canada just past Winnipeg, Manitoba. I figured that since I started near the west coast and am going to the east coast that this might be near the half way point on the trip. Alas, I still have more than half way to go. I’m think the eastern-most point in Canada is in Newfoundland, the western-most is probably out on Vancouver Island.

I slept last night in the tiny house, just parked it out in back of a restaurant where there where several other trucks parked. It was comfy even without any heat.

I saw a semi truck who’s driver had apparently fallen asleep at the wheel and missed a curve and ended up (unharmed but apparently stuck) in the middle of a field of grain.

I also passed by the world’s biggest teepee in Medicine Hat, Alberta (I was OK with just seeing it from the truck). The sign upon entering the city announces that it is the “Gas City” due to the copious deposits of natural gas in the area. Sorry, but I don’t think I would want to live somewhere called the gas city. The name Medicine Hat comes from the english translation for the blackfoot word for the eagle tail feather headdress worn by medicine men.

It was nice to start seeing wooded areas in Manitoba after the plains. The northwest part of Ontario was really beautiful with a different lake after every little hill I would go over. Until next time, thanks for reading. — Will

One Response to “Still heading east”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Thanks for keeping us posted!

Leave a Reply

